When:
May 2, 2021 @ 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
2021-05-02T16:00:00-07:00
2021-05-02T18:00:00-07:00

SUNDAY, MAY 2,  2021,  4:00-6:00PM PT / 7:00-9:00PM ET

&  THURSDAY, MAY 6,   6:00-8:00PM PT / 9:00-11:00PM ET

 

Instructor:  Jan Wutkowski

This class will concentrate on ways to cover millinery buckram frames, which are a mainstay of the millinery toolbox.  Learn numerous fabric manipulation techniques, including pleating, smocking, twisting, etc., for added interest. You will also learn to line the headpieces and how to finish edges.  Learning the best ways to attach embellishments such as feathers and flowers will also be demoed.  We’ll also be discussing ways to secure the headpieces to your head.

We will explore one of the most used techniques of making a hat.  Buckram, the millinery medium we’ll use in class, can be used for small special occasion hats, wedding headpieces, theatrical shapes and many historical pieces.  It is a very versatile and a great place to start when learning millinery techniques like proper stitching.

Supply List Available HERE.

$50 per individual

Beginner / Intermediate
Ages 18+

Click Here for our Class Registration & Cancellation Policies

Jan Wutkowski

Jan Wutkowski

Instructor

Jan Wutkowski has been a milliner for over 25 years, teaching for over 20 years. She has taught at many arts and crafts schools across the US, including Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts (TN), John C. Campbell Folk School (NC), Spruill Center for the Arts (GA), Southwest School of Arts & Crafts (TX), Lacis Museum School (CA), Mendocino Center for the Arts (CA) and many others. Wutkowski has also taught in Australia, the UK, Ireland and France.